FICCI@100 : 1047 days to go
Become a Member Members Zone Employee Zone
FICCI Celebrates 97th Foundation Day, Felicitates First 33 Past Presidents 1927-1959

Apr 09, 2024

  • Chamber Pays Tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Raj Ghat, Reaffirms Commitment to Inclusive Growth


  • FICCI’s second NECM for 2023-24 and Foundation Day celebration concludes in Mumbai


MUMBAI, 09 April 2024—The Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), India's apex and oldest business chamber, celebrated its 97th Foundation Day on 7 April by paying tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat, New Delhi. The event commemorated the historic address delivered by the Father of the Nation at FICCI's 4th AGM on this day in 1931. The celebrations continued in Mumbai, where FICCI felicitated the descendants of 33 of its past presidents from the years 1927 to 1959.


The grand celebrations in New Delhi and Mumbai reflect FICCI's glorious past and set the stage for a promising future as the Chamber moves closer to its centenary in 2027. The Chamber's journey has been illuminated by its illustrious presidents, whose visionary leadership shaped India's business landscape.


Addressing the felicitation ceremony in Mumbai, Dr Anish ShahPresident, FICCI said, “FICCI Foundation Day is an inspiring tribute to our visionary leaders. It is an honour to felicitate the Presidents from 1927 to 1959 and commemorate their pivotal role in India's economic rise. As we stride towards FICCI’s centenary in 2027, let's uphold their governance values and advance towards a progressive future."


On occasion, Mr Harsh Pati Singhania, Past President of FICCI, said, "FICCI’s history is closely linked with India's struggle for independence, followed by the path of industrialisation and subsequent liberalisation that has culminated in India emerging as a significant player in the global economy."


Mr KV Kamath, Chairperson, National Bank of Financing Infrastructure and Development (NaBFID), in a conversation with FICCI President Dr Shah, noted, "Typically, we look at only the young people being the driver of the demographic dividend, but I will add that it will also be the older people who will drive the demographic dividend because they are going to skill/upskill themselves."


Concurrently, FICCI organised its second National Executive Committee Meeting (NECM) for 2023-24, attended by over 125 industry members. The meeting focused on four key pillars. President Dr Shah encouraged attendees to share transformative ideas for accelerating India's development and urged sector committee chairs to align industry action with government priorities while incorporating the viewpoints of MSME sector leaders.


Mr SK Pathak, Secretary General of FICCI, also spoke on occasion.


As India progresses to become the world's third-largest economy, FICCI reaffirms its commitment to the nation's inclusive growth and global integration. The focus for 2024 and beyond rests on four key pillars: championing indigenous manufacturing and innovation through 'Make in India', empowering farmers and boosting agricultural productivity, fostering women's entrepreneurship and leadership, and promoting sustainability and green growth.


List of FICCI Past Presidents (1927 – 1959) felicitated in Mumbai:

Dinshaw M Petit -1927

Sir Purshotamdas Thakurdas - 1928

GD Birla -1929

Sir Shri Ram - 1930

M Jamal Mohammed Sahib - 1931

Walchand Hirachand – 1932

Nalini Ranjan Sarker - 1933

Kasturbhai Lalbhai - 1934

Sir Padampat Singhania - 1935

D P Khaitan - 1936

Sir Rahimtoola M Chinoy – 1937

Jamshed NR Mehta - 1938

Dewan Bahadur C S Ratnasabapathi Mudaliar -1939

Amrit Lal Ojha – 1940

Sir Chunilal B Mehta - 1941

Gaganvihari L Mehta - 1942

Dr. Rajah Sir Muthiah Chettiar of Chettinad - 1943

J C Setalvad - 1944

Sir Badridas Goenka – 1945

Gurusharan Lall - 1946

MA Master - 1947

Lalji Mehrotra - 1948

K D Jalan – 1949

Tulsidas Kilachand - 1950

C M Kothari - 1951

Shanti Prasad Jain - 1952

Sir R G Saraiya - 1953

B M Birla - 1954

Shantilal Mangaldas - 1955

Lakshmipat Singhania - 1956

Babubhai M Chinai – 1957

Sir BP Singh Roy - 1958

Madanmohan R Ruia -1959

Also Read